You are here2012 Guardians of Culture, Memory, and Lifeways International Awards Program

2012 Guardians of Culture, Memory, and Lifeways International Awards Program

Guardians of Culture and Lifeways 2012 Awards Announcement

Established in 2007, the Guardians of Culture, Memory, and Lifeways International Awards Program identifies and recognizes organizations and individuals who serve as outstanding examples of how indigenous archives, libraries, and museums contribute to the vitality and cultural sovereignty of Native nations.

Awardees will be honored at the 2012 International Indigenous Archives, Libraries, and Museums Conference in Tulsa, Oklahoma from June 4-7. Conference registration, lodging, and travel expenses will be covered for each awardee.

Nominations are sought for seven award categories:

Lifetime Achievement Award - Honors an individual whose work has significantly contributed to the preservation and understanding of indigenous cultural heritage. Individuals should have at least fifteen years of service to the archives, library, or museum professions (in any combination). Past recipients are Dr. Lotsee Patterson, Professor Emeriti, School of Library and Information Services, University of Oklahoma and Irving Nelson, director of the Navajo Nation Library System.

Leadership Award - Honors an indigenous individual with exceptional ability to lead and inspire, reflected in accomplishments and broad impact in the archives, library, and/or museum professions. Nominees must currently work in the archives, library, and/or museum professions. Past recipients are Alyce Sadongei, Arizona State Museum and Dr. Loriene Roy, professor, School of Information, University of Texas at Austin.

Honored One Award – Recognizes individuals or organizations whose contributions have significantly benefited the preservation of indigenous cultural heritage and supported the work of tribal archives, libraries, and museums. This award category is new for 2012. Multiple awards may be presented in this category.

Outstanding Project Award - Recognizes an outstanding project that has greatly benefited indigenous archives, libraries, and museums. Projects may include those in a related profession such as heritage preservation, language, archeology, or anthropology, provided there is a link to an archive, library, or museum. Individuals or organizations are eligible. Past recipients include The Dragonfly Project, a partnership between the Haines Borough Public Library of Alaska and the Chilkoot Indian Association as well as the Tribal College Librarians Professional Development Institute at Montana State University, Bozeman.

Archives Institutional Excellence Award - Recognizes indigenous archives that demonstrate a significant commitment to the preservation and use of documentary heritage. Nominees are evaluated on their effectiveness in improving the documentary record through identifying and ensuring the preservation of records relating to tribal communities and topics; demonstrating success in raising public awareness of the importance of improving documentation; using innovative approaches to identifying and acquiring the records of tribal communities/topics; or using effective and appropriate approaches to making records available to a broader public audience. Past recipients are the St. Regis Mohawk Tribe and the Seneca Tribal Archives.

Library Institutional Excellence Award - Recognizes an indigenous library that profoundly demonstrates outstanding service to its community. Nominees must have developed innovative and effective services and programs that can be replicated by other libraries; partnered successfully with other institutions to improve and enhance services; or demonstrated excellence in service that has impacted the community in a measurable way. Emphasis will be placed on accomplishments that showcase the library's role as a center of the community. Past recipients are the Colorado River Indian Tribe (Amelia Flores) and the Pueblo of Jemez Community Library.

Museum Institutional Excellence Award - Recognizes Indigenous museums and museum services that demonstrate significant commitment to the care, preservation, interpretation, and presentation of material cultural heritage. Nominees must have demonstrated innovative and effective collections care methods; originality and quality of programming (including exhibitions, education and outreach, events, and publications); and/or successful collaboration with other heritage organizations. Past recipients are the Tamastslikt Cultural Institute and the Ziibiwing Center of Anishinabe Culture and Lifeways.

A committee of individuals from cultural institutions across the nation review award entries. Judges abstain from voting in categories where a potential conflict of interest is perceived. Interested parties wishing to serve on the review committee should contact ATALM at

• March 30 – Nominations due
• April 16 – Announcements
• June 5 – Awards Luncheon

ATALM 2018 Conference

October 8-11, 2018
Mystic Lake Center
2400 Mystic Lake Boulevard
Prior Lake, MN 55372