You are hereGuardian Award Winners

Guardian Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

  • 2007: Dr. Lotsee Patterson, Professor Emerita, School of Library and Information Services, University of Oklahoma
  • 2009: Irving Nelson, director of the Navajo Nation Library System
  • 2012: Richard West, former director of the National Museum of the American Indian
  • 2013: Benjamin Wakashige, Former Director, New Mexico State Library
  • 2014: Dr. Ernest H. Siva, teacher and culture bearer for the Cahuilla/Serrano peoples
  • 2015: Dr. Donald Soctomah, Passamaquoddy Historic Preservation Office
  • 2016: Dr. Nancy Maryboy, Founding President, Indigenous Education Institute
  • 2016: Elaine Peters, Museum Director, Ak-Chin Indian Community
  • 2017: Dr. David Warren, Founding Deputy Director, National Museum of the American Indian.

Leadership Award

  • 2007: Alyce Sadongei, Arizona State Museum
  • 2009: Dr. Loriene Roy, Professor, School of Information, University of Texas at Austin
  • 2012: Dr. Sven Haakanson, Executive Director of the Alutiiq Museum
  • 2013: Amalia M. Reyes, Supervisor of the Dr. Fernando Escalante Community Library
  • 2017: Rose Diaz, Library Director & Senior Research Historian, Indian Pueblo Cultural Center.

Honored One Award

  • 2012: Walter Echo-Hawk, attorney, author and Native-rights activist
  • 2012: Susan McVey, Director, Oklahoma Department of Libraries
  • 2013: Faith Damon Davison, retired Archivist/Librarian of the Mohegan Tribe
  • 2014: Gregory Annenberg-Weingarten, Vice-President and Director of the Annenberg Foundation
  • 2015: Tim Bernardis, Founding Librarian, Little Big Horn College Library
  • 2016: Judith Gray, Coordinator of Reference Services American Folklife Center, Library of Congress
  • 2017: Regis Pecos, Co-Founder/Co-Director, Santa Fe Indian School Leadership Institute
  • 2017: Letitia Chambers, Former CEO, Heard Museum

Outstanding Project Award

  • 2007: The Dragonfly Project, a partnership between the Haines Borough Public Library of Alaska and the Chilkoot Indian Association
  • 2009: The Tribal College Librarians Professional Development Institute at Montana State University, Bozeman
  • 2012: The Plateau Peoples' Web Portal, an interactive, online digital archive that provides access to Plateau peoples' cultural materials at Washington State University
  • 2013: "From the Hands of Our Elders," a collaborative project focused on documenting and preserving the material culture and archival holdings of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians
  • 2014: "Siksika Way of Life" Cultural Sessions at Blackfoot Crossing Historical Park
  • 2015: Ara Irititja, a project of the Pitjantjatjara Council and the South Australian Museum
  • 2016: "Doorways to the Past, Gateway to the Future", an innovative partnership project of the Chilkoot Indian Association and the Haines Borough Public Library
  • 2017:"California Continued" and "Tending the Wild", The Autry Museum of the American West
  • 2017: "Cultivating Traditional Practices: Enhancing our Self-Reliance and Preserving our Culture", Klukwan Community and School Library/Chilkat Indian Village

Archives Institutional Excellence Award

  • 2007: The St. Regis Mohawk Tribe
  • 2009: The Seneca Tribal Archives
  • 2012: The Colorado River Indian Tribes Library
  • 2013: The Citizen Potawatomi Cultural Heritage Center
  • 2014: Sealaska Heritage Institute Library, Archives, and Collections Program; and Office of Archives and Records Management
  • 2015: Poarch Band of Creek Indians
  • 2016: The D’Arcy McNickle Center for American Indian and Indigenous Studies at the Newberry Library

Library Institutional Excellence Award

  • 2007: Colorado River Indian Tribe (Amelia Flores)
  • 2009: Pueblo of Jemez Community Library
  • 2012: The Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma (Sandy Tharp)
  • 2013: The Ak-Chin Tribal Library (Melanie Toledo)
  • 2014: The Jamestown S'Klallam Tribal Library (Leanne Jenkins)
  • 2015: Fort McDowell Tribal Library (Jacquelyn McCalvin)
  • 2016: Hopi Public Library (Noreen Sakiestewa)
  • 2017: Laguna Public Library (Janice Kowemy)

Museum Institutional Excellence Award

  • 2007: Tamastslikt Cultural Institute
  • 2009: The Ziibiwing Center of Anishinabe Culture and Lifeways
  • 2012: The Cherokee Heritage Center
  • 2013: The Makah Cultural and Research Center
  • 2014: Agua Caliente Cultural Museum
  • 2015: Dine College Ned A. Hatahli Cultural Center Museum
  • 2016: Alutiiq Museum & Archaeological Repository
  • 2017:Chickasaw Cultural Center

Native Language Preservation Award

  • 2016: The American Indian Language Development Institute

Trailblazer Award

  • 2016: Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell

ATALM 2018 Conference

October 8-11, 2018
Mystic Lake Center
2400 Mystic Lake Boulevard
Prior Lake, MN 55372